Just bite his face

Don’t bite his face, Eleanor told herself. It’s disturbing and needy and never happens in situation comedies or movies that end with big kisses.
“I’m sorry about yesterday,” she said.
He hung on to his straps and shrugged. “Yesterday happens.”
God, it was like he wanted her to eat his face clean off.

If you never read Eleanor & Park, I suggest you change that, stat. It’s no secret I dislike love stories, and I practically retch at the thought of any Nicholas Sparks book, but this book….wow. Maybe it’s because E&P, as a whole, has meaning, and there is substance to the characters; or maybe it’s because the book revolves around a theme that talks to more than something as basic as a guy that only sees a pretty/thin girl that makes emotional instability seem sexy.

Eleanor mayyyy be my new favorite character, sorry Scarlet, but you were replaced. Anyone that knows me, knows I am the polar opposite of normal. Me in a nutshell: I almost never say the right thing at the right time and I have a [very] difficult time expressing anything in a way that any other [normal] person would. If I had a superpower based on my personality, it would be to make an innocent situation as awkward as humanly possible. Trust me on that. If you disagree, ask any human (or animal, for that matter) that I ever interacted with.

But Eleanor-  I understand her. Maybe I cannot understand her fashion sense, but her as an individual, a human, a friend…I understand. The quote above stands out and shows how genuine Eleanor is, how in-touch and shamelessly herself she is. She never (not even once!) apologizes for being weird, or chastises herself for thinking something like biting a her boyfriend’s face is bizarre, and I love that. It takes a truly strong person to own their strangeness and Eleanor definitely does that.

Read. This. Book. 😀

Leave a Reply

