The Quality of Silence

 He hadn’t been her rock in a conventional way…But he’d wait outside for her, often with a telescope in the car, a bottle of wine in the boot, and sleeping bags for the beach. He showed her over and over again that her past didn’t mean a future without happiness.

The Quality of Silenceby Rosamund Lupton, was my first read in the psychological thriller/suspense genre and now I know why I avoid these books. There were moments I really liked it…mostly when it ended, but it was a mostly interesting read nonetheless. I originally picked this book as my next read because the cover kept catching my eye and I loved that it was about a mother-daughter relationship.  My Goodreads rating: 3 stars.

The main reason I gave this book 3 stars is because it was just not a fun read and I found myself rushing through the last hundred pages just to get it over with. I thought it took a long time to pick up in the first place, so by the time it finally did, I was already over it.

The ending was bizarre too. It happened in a realistic way, meaning I wasn’t left with that awkward there’s no way that actually happened feeling where I also get kind of embarrassed for the author. No, I was content with how it ended, but it was just so random. The story only started picking up in the last 50 pages, but the biggest point, the ending, was all within 3 pages. While it was beautifully written, it was rushed and Lupton should have spaced it out a little better.

What also pushed me to give this only 3 stars, is that it seemed like it was entirely about why fracking is bad. If I wanted to read debates about an environmental issue, I’d pick up something more official than this. It’s clear this author wanted to bring this issue to light, but quite frankly if I knew that is where this book was going, then I wouldn’t have picked it up in the first place.

However, it is indisputably well written. Everything Lupton tells you has meaning to it, and you find yourself piecing together parts of the mystery and waiting for the characters to catch on. Some things are glaringly obvious, while others you put together only to find out you are dead wrong.

The characters were incredibly developed as well. They were very well-rounded and I found myself detesting Yasmin, no matter how human Lupton made her. While you know she loves her daughter, Ruby, you hate her for what she puts her through. Ruby was my favorite character. She’s such a strong and brave little girl, and all her actions in the book, fit the personality Lupton describes. What I loved the most about her is she never let being deaf stop her from communicating. She believes in herself and is full of love, determination, and positivity. But while Lupton gave her characters a lot of personality, there was still a lot of room to make your own judgments about them which I love.

All in all, not a bad book if you’re into thrillers or fracking, but it wasn’t my cup of coffee.

Disclaimer: I received this book from the Blogging for Books program in exchange for this review

Leave a Reply

