Illuminae: Simply Fantastic

The Universe owes you nothing Kady. It has already given you everything, after all. It was here long before you, and it will go on long after you. The only way it will remember you is if you do something worth remembrance.

Every so often you find a book that you cannot put down because it, simply put, consumes you. Illuminae was that book. I found myself staying up late to just read a few more pages even though I had to be up early the next day, I was reading it while waiting for, on, and as soon as I stepped off the train but alas, I could not get enough. Now that I finished the book, I want more.

This book was beautifully and brilliantly written. I’m usually very weary of books written by two or more authors because many times you can differentiate the different styles, but this book is as cohesively written as any co-authored book can be.  Part of the reason this book is such a page turner, is because it has no real structure to it which makes it fun. There are documents, IM conversations, pictures, pictures made out of words, and so many other fun styling techniques that keep you intrigued. Diction-wise, the authors mostly write in a way that it was easy to keep up with. Except for the techie stuff…that was difficult to follow, because futuristic novels = futuristic flight/fighter technology.

Content-wise, I was reminded of The Kill Order because they both contain a brain debilitating virus which makes people kill.  This virus also caused the infected to have similarly hostile characteristics. However, the afflicted in Illuminae were much more disturbing than cranks. Don’t look at me.

What I loved the most about this novel is that it was a new angle for modern futuristic novels. Generally speaking, modern novels have female protagonists, but this novel puts her in a different light. Kady is this little short stack that everyone seems to underestimate, which is actually a bad move because to say she is intelligent would be an understatement. The young 17 year old not only has an IQ that only .1% of people have, but more importantly, she has raw emotion. Too often do authors portray characters as fearless risk takers, but Kady shows the crippling emotion that is seemingly missing from most fiction, and how she overcomes it. She is human.

I could probably talk about this book all day (and trust me I would) but it’s better if you read it for yourself!

Leave a Reply

